Friday, Jul. 01, 2022

What are the U.S. service academies?

There are five U.S. service academies, which are federal academies for the undergraduate education and training of commissioned officers for the armed forces. Students at four of the service academies (not including Merchant Marine Academy) are obligated to a minimum five year active duty commitment, and if in the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps or Coast Guard, there is an additional three year reserve commitment. The five service academies are:

  • U.S. Merchant Marine Academy (King's Point)
  • U.S. Military Academy (West Point)
  • U.S. Naval Academy
  • U.S. Coast Guard
  • U.S. Air Force Academy

You can find out more about each academy, including historical facts, how to enroll and how to schedule a visit, here.

View more questions, articles or lists.